History

Henley Mill Bridge

Posted by on Aug 19, 2015 in History | 0 comments

Henley Mill Bridge

Henley Mill Bridge – 130 years and still going

Also known as Kings Mill Bridge, the truss was built in 1884 by the Champion Bridge Company. It is located west of Highway 58 on Big Sewee Road (County Road 407) north of Decatur. The bridge traverses Sewee Creek and is adjacent to the site of the old Henley (Kings) Mill after which the bridge was named.

read more

Cherokee Removal Memorial Park

Posted by on Jul 17, 2015 in History | 0 comments

Cherokee Removal Memorial Park

The Cherokee Removal Memorial Park is a multipurpose facility dedicated to those who died and those who cried in what has become known as the “Trail of Tears”.

The “Trail of Tears” is said to have passed through the southern end of Meigs County in 1838. Today we are champions of human rights and oppose the practice of ethnic cleansing. However, we have a chapter in our history involving the removal of the Five Civilized Tribes from the southeastern US to make land available for white settlement. The park is intended to interpret and educate the public about the forced removal of the Cherokees from their ancestral land as well as inform them about the unique wildlife in the area, and provide recreational opportunities.

read more

The Meigs County Historical Museum

Posted by on Jun 2, 2015 in History | 0 comments

The Meigs County Historical Museum

The Meigs County Historical Museum houses many displays, heritage books and numerous items depicting the history of Meigs County. The museum also has a genealogy room for researchers. Location 200 Smith Avenue Decatur, TN 37322 Phone: (423) 334-4424 Website: meigscohistoricalmuseum.org Hours Mondays 10 a.m. – 3 p.m. or call for an appointment

read more